The Marty Chronicles……….. INTRO

24 Feb
INTRO :  When I was 22 I met my first long-term boyfriend.  His name was Marty and he was 26 – we had a one-night stand that turned into a 5 year relationship.
I was Marty’s first “real” girlfriend – before me he had only had sex with  a couple of girls (one of whom was a hooker when he was 21 and in the marines) but he’d never gone “steady” with anyone.  I’d had a few short-term boyfriends but only 1 of them was serious enough to involve the “L word” and that was in my senior year of high school.
Marty was a sweetheart and an all-around good guy – he treated me well and we had so much fun together. We had a lot in common…….. especially when it came to wanting someone who wanted us back – we wanted to find love and we found it in each other.  Blinded by love, I didn’t really pay much attention to the fact that he was extremely naïve and not the sharpest tool in the shed – however, even if I had realized it at the time I doubt it would’ve changed anything.
Marty started smoking pot when he was 12 and never stopped – and he fit the stereotype of a stoner to a T.  To put it nicely – he was a loveable doofus – a hardworking doofus, a gentle doofus, a funny and charming doofus, a doofus with the best of intentions.
The stories I am going to post about Marty and things that happened in our relationship are 100% true although the sequence of events may be out of order.  I am writing this not to humiliate him or cause him harm – we parted as friends and I will always think of him fondly – but it’s been more than 15 years since we’ve had any contact so I think it’s OK for me to share my experiences now.
Please - share your brilliant commentary

